LEARN MORESchedule a Free Web Seminar NOW!866.427.4787
Home > About Us > Scientific Advisors > Bio-Dean Robert Sternberg

Dean Robert Sternberg

Dean Sternberg has been rated one of the top psychologists of the 20th century, and was 2003 President of the American Psychological Association. He is most well-known for his theory of successful intelligence, investment theory of creativity (developed with Todd Lubart), theory of thinking styles as mental self-government, balance theory of wisdom, WICS theory of leadership, and for his duplex theories of love and hate.


As Director of the PACE Center, Dean Stermberg is dedicated to the advancement of theory, research, practice, and policy advancing the notion of intelligence as developing expertise-as a construct that is modifiable and capable, to some extent, of development throughout the life span. The Center seeks to have an impact on science, on education, and on society.


Sternberg received the Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1975 and the B.A. summa cum laude, Phi Beta Kappa, with honors with exceptional distinction in psychology, from Yale University in 1972. He also holds honorary doctorates from the Complutense University of Madrid, Spain; the University of Leuven, Belgium; the University of Cyprus; the University of Paris V, France; and Constantine the Philosopher University, Slovakia; and the University of Durham, England. He is further scheduled to receive honorary degrees from St. Petersburg State University in Russia and the University of Tilburg in Holland.


Sternberg is the author of over 1100 journal articles, book chapters, and books, and has received over $20 million in government and other grants and contracts for his research. The central focus of his research is on intelligence, creativity, and wisdom, and he also has studied love and close relationships as well as hate. This research has been conducted in five different continents.


Sternberg is also a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Psychological Association (in 15 divisions), the American Psychological Society, the Connecticut Psychological Association, the Royal Norwegian Society of Sciences and Letters, the International Association for Empirical Aesthetics, the Laureate Chapter of Kappa Delta Pi, and the Society of Experimental Psychologists. He has won many awards from APA, AERA, APS, and other organizations.

Back to Scientific Advisors